Mandatory, lifelong registration as a sex offender is one of the harshest consequences of a sex crime conviction. Years and even decades after people have served their time and paid their dues to society, they are required to continually register with local law enforcement, have their name, photo, and details of their crime available for public view, and face constant restrictions that affect employment, housing, and more. What’s more, failing to register can bring significant penalties. This makes it crucial to know what types of offenses require registration, who needs to register, and when they must register by.
Michigan Sex Offender Requirements: Who Must Register?
If any person living, working, or studying in Michigan must register as a sex offender if:
- They have been convicted of any offense listed in Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) § 28.722.
- They are identified or registered as a sex offender, child offender, or predator in another state.
These requirements even apply to people who are only temporarily living or working in the state, and they apply if they are working without compensation.
Crimes that Mandate Sex Offender Registration
Generally speaking, a person who is convicted of any serious sex crime will be required to register as a sex offender. But which crimes mandate registration, specifically? Are there any exceptions? Let’s take a closer look.
MCL § 28.722 lists all registerable offenses. It also states that a person could be required to register as a sex offender if they are convicted of any crime “substantially similar to a listed offense” under state, federal, tribal, or military law.
The following are examples of the listed offenses:
- Indecent exposure involving a minor
- Child pornography
- Unlawful imprisonment of a minor
- Sexual assault
- Criminal sexual conduct
- Human trafficking involving a minor
- Kidnapping of a minor
- Solicitation of prostitution
- Gross indecency (committing sexual acts in public)
How Long Does Sex Offender Registration Last?
Sex offender registration may be required for 15 years, 25 years, or life. The length of time will depend on whether the offense is classified as a Tier I, Tier II, or Tier III crime (based on its severity and the circumstances surrounding the case). Tier I offenses are the least serious and are typically nonviolent, such as indecent exposure or voyeurism. Tier II crimes are also nonviolent but may involve minors, such as sex trafficking or statutory rape. Tier III crimes are the most serious and involve violent or forceful acts against minors or adults.
Registration requirements begin after a person is released from prison. A person sentenced to 10 years in prison for a sex crime that requires 15 years of registration would essentially face 25 years of penalties, starting with incarceration and ending with strict registration requirements.
How Often Do You Need to Register?
In Michigan, people who are required to register as sex offenders must do so, in person, at their local law enforcement agency once, twice, or four times a year. They must also re-register if they move, get a new job, start attending school, or change their name, which must be done in person or via the U.S. Postal Service within three business days of the event that requires re-registration.
Ask a Farmington Hills Sex Crime Lawyer
As a criminal defense attorney who has served clients facing serious sex crime charges, I know how challenging these cases can be. I also know how detrimental it can be to one’s personal and professional life to register as a sex offender. That is why I work hard to give my clients the best opportunity at avoiding strict registration requirements and convictions altogether. If you want to learn more about the ways I can help as a Farmington Hills sex crime lawyer with nearly 20 years of experience, give me a call at (248) 599-0054. I am passionate about protecting my clients’ rights and futures, and I’m ready to see how I can assist you.