Farmington Hills Misdemeanor Attorney
Defending Residents of Oakland County & All of Michigan Since 2002
Crimes are classified into two categories: misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors carry less significant penalties but can still cause long-term hardships for the convicted. Whatever the circumstances of your case, misdemeanors should be taken seriously; that means hiring a Farmington Hills misdemeanor lawyer as soon as possible.
When you’re facing charges, call Daniel D. Hajji, Attorney at Law or contact me online for your free consultation!
If you are convicted of a misdemeanor, you will not only have to suffer from penalties that interfere with your life, but you will also have a criminal record. As an experienced misdemeanor crimes attorney in Oakland County, I have the resources and experience to challenge the evidence against you and weaken the state’s case. By doing that, I increase the odds of getting your charged reduced or your case dismissed outright. For a free strategy session with me, call (248) 599-0054 as soon as possible.
Michigan Misdemeanors & Their Penalties
In Michigan, there are different levels of misdemeanors. There are misdemeanors that come with a jail sentence of 93 days or less. Other potential penalties for misdemeanors include fines and probation. However, there are other misdemeanors that come with up to a year in jail. A jail sentence for a misdemeanor typically does not exceed one year, though they can sometimes be even longer.
Examples of misdemeanors include the following:
- Reckless Driving
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
- Drug Possession
- Domestic Violence
93-Day Jail Penalties
When a person is accused of crimes such as disturbing the peace, assault, battery, or embezzlement, they could face up to 93 days in jail and receive up to $500 in fines. Typically, these types of misdemeanors are for crimes that violate local ordinances or minor state laws.
1-Year Jail Penalties
Misdemeanors with penalties amounting to a year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines are associated with the violation of state laws rather than local ordinances. First-time offenses are typically treated as a 93-day misdemeanor. However, repeat offenses could cause a person to face more significant penalties.
The Statute of Limitations for Misdemeanors in Michigan
When a person has committed a crime, the law requires they be charged within a specific amount of time or the state waives its ability to bring the case forward. This idea is known as a statute of limitations. Every misdemeanor has one in Michigan. The statute of limitations for each crime differs, and the limitation is suspended when a person leaves the state. So, if a person commits a crime with a 2-year statute of limitation, they must spend 2 years in the state for the limitation to be effective.
Farmington Hills Misdemeanor Defense Attorney Serving All of Oakland County
With each case I handle, my goal is to take every action possible to reach a favorable case result. With my knowledge and skill, you may be able to get your charges reduced, case dismissed, acquitted at trial, or through prosecutorial negotiations, or having your charges significantly reduced through a plea deal. Whatever the best outcome is in your case, I’ll build a defense that works toward that goal.
When you call me, I will be ready to investigate your criminal matter and build a solid defense strategy. I’ve been helping residents throughout Michigan since 2002, so I have the experience and history of results your case requires. I am dedicated to my clients and commit every resource I have toward them.
You don’t have to be treated like a criminal because you made a mistake or are accused of a crime you didn’t commit. Call to see how I can help: (248) 599-0054.