Farmington Hills Sex Offender Registration Attorney
Defending Those Facing Sex Crime Charges in Oakland County & Michigan
When a person is convicted of sex crime in Michigan, they will likely have to register as a sex offender. Registration as a sex offender typically lasts for a lifetime and makes a person’s daily existence more difficult in countless ways. People on a sex offender registry face have a hard time finding a job, obtaining a place to live, and getting professionally licensed—even if they’re qualified.
If you’re facing the possibility of registering as a sex offender, then you need to obtain the help of an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Even though many registered sex offenders do not spend their life in jail, the repercussions of being registered limits their freedom significantly. The sooner you call me, Daniel D. Hajji, Attorney at Law, the sooner I can build a defense that could change the course of your life.
To speak with an experienced sex offender registration attorney serving Oakland County and throughout Michigan, call me today at (248) 599-0054.
Federal Sex Offender Classifications
Michigan classifies sex offenders using the Adam Walsh Act, which sets a standard for law enforcement’s classifications of sex crimes. The Act classifies crimes based on what time act was committed, the age of those involved, and if the person who committed the crime is likely to repeat it.
- All parties involved were at the age of consent
- The sex crime was non-violent
- Requires a sex offender registration for 15 years
- Registered offenders must check in once a year
- Violations include indecent exposure, voyeurism, non-consensual sexual contact, and more
- The crime involved minors
- The crime was non-violent
- Convicted sex offenders must remain registered for no less than 25 years
- Registered offenders must check in twice a year
- Violations include sex trafficking, intimidating for sex, bribing for sex, and more
- Violent acts involving minors or adults
- Convicted offenders register for life
- Offenders must check in 4 times a year
- Violations include sexual assault, sexual acts performed while a person is under duress, the use of drugs or alcohol to influence a sexual encounter, and more
Michigan’s Sex Offender Laws
For years, Michigan law has placed strict requirements on those registered as sex offenders. However, a U.S. district judge recently declared the law unconstitutional and ordered the state to change the law. The rules applied to all sex offenders, even if they have not committed a crime for decades.
Michigan once required sex offenders to:
- Avoid living, working, or standing within 1,000 feet of a school
- Register e-mail addresses and vehicles
- Report to police every four months
Call (248) 599-0054 To Speak With a Farmington Hills Sex Offender Registration Attorney
I am proud to defend my clients, and I will fiercely fight to protect you from the lifetime of shame and struggle. Michigan has an evolving set of laws regarding sex offender registration, and my experience has made me ideally equipped to help you navigate the law without fear. I truly care about my clients and devote all my resources to getting them the best possible outcome.
After 20 years of successful results and court victories, my results prove my skill for defending the accused. I am available 24/7 and am ready to have a one-on-one strategy session about your case. But don’t hesitate! The sooner you call me, the sooner I can investigate your charges, discover flaws in how the police handled your case, and file motions to suppress evidence or even dismiss your case.
Call me today for a free and confidential consultation. I am ready to talk when you call me at (248) 599-0054.