Skip to Content



Driving under the influence is a serious offense. If you’ve never been convicted of drunk driving before, you might be wondering what kinds of consequences you may face if you are charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Michigan. Even though, as with any other criminal charge, you are presumed innocent until proven guilty, a DUI should be taken seriously. 

What Is Considered a DUI in Michigan? 

According to Michigan law, a person could be charged with a DUI for operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol with a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher. Because the legal drinking age in Michigan is 21, the BAC limit is much lower for younger drivers at .02%. The same penalties are applicable to those driving under the influence of Schedule 1 controlled substances and/or cocaine. 

The consequences of being convicted of a DUI can vary based on other factors as well, such as: 

  • High BAC (above .17%)

  • Whether or not this is your first offense 

  • Whether or not other cars were affected or other people were injured or killed 

What Happens When You Get Your First DUI? 

Because DUI is usually considered a misdemeanor, you may receive jail time upon conviction. However, that potential jail time is capped at a year, and is often much less for first-time offenders at up to 93 days. After your third conviction, DUI will be treated as a Class E felony, meaning much longer jail sentences and harsher penalties. 

If your BAC is below .17 on your first DUI charge, you could face: 

  • $500 fine 

  • 360 hours of community service 

  • 93 days in jail 

  • 6 points on your driving record 

  • 180 days of license suspension 

If your BAC is above .17 on your first offense, you may face higher penalties, such as: 

  • $700 fine 

  • 360 hours of community service 

  • 180 days in jail 

  • 6 points on your driving record 

  • 1 year of license suspension 

  • Mandatory completion of an alcohol treatment program 

Should I Get a Lawyer for My First DUI in Michigan? 

Although the consequences of receiving a DUI for the first time is often less harsh than that of a repeat offense, a first-time conviction could still mean anything from fines to license suspension. The only way to ensure the best possible result for you and your future is to hire a skilled DUI lawyer like Daniel D. Hajji, Attorney at Law

Don’t wait to get the right people on your team! As soon as you are charged with your first DUI in Michigan, contact the DUI attorneys at Daniel D. Hajji, Attorney at Law. Schedule your free consultation today by calling (248) 599-0054